Image

“I’m coming to Thailand. How do I tell people I need gluten free food?”

A few people have asked me this recently, and I got caught in a new restaurant without my card. So I’m going to share a little translation with you, that you can print and take out for dining. It’s helped me heaps – however you may need someone to slightly change some of the words depending on your dietary preferences (as I don’t personally eat red meat). I hope you find it helpful 🙂

I have a food allergy to wheat, pearl barley and rye. If I eat anything containing these ingredients I will get sick. Wheat is added to soy sauce so I cannot have soy sauce in the food I eat. Also, it is very important that cooking pots, bowls and woks are cleaned with soap and water before food is cooked in them. 

ดิฉันแพ้อาหารจำพวกแป้งสาลี แป้งบาร์เลย์และแป้งไรย์ ถ้าหากดิฉันทานอาหารที่มีส่วนผสมเหล่านี้เข้าไปจะทำให้ดิฉันล้มป่วย รวมถึงซี้อิ๊วขาวจะมีส่วนผสมของแป้งสาลี จึงอย่าใส่ซีอิ๊วขาวลงไปในอาหารให้กับดิฉัน นอกจากนี้ สิ่งที่สำคัญที่สุดคือภาชนะจาน ชามที่ใส่อาหารต้องล้างทำความสะอาดก่อนนำมาใส่อาหาร

  I can eat vegetables, egg, rice, fish and fruit.

ฉันสามารถทานผัก ไข่ ข้าวสวย ปลาและผลไม้

4 thoughts on ““I’m coming to Thailand. How do I tell people I need gluten free food?”

  1. Linda Walmer says:

    I’m thinking about travelling to Thailand, but I’m vegetarian, and can’t eat soy (and prefer to eat gluten free). I’m wondering if I’m going to constantly be struggling to find food there. Would love to know your thoughts.

    Thanks!

    • Marley says:

      That’s a tricky one, but it is possible! Thai Buddhists follow a similar diet. I would recommend you look into that and have someone translate a phrase or two for you when eating out.

  2. Love your site! My husband and I are on our honeymoon and I fell upon your site and it is so helpful as someone who has celiac, has allergies to eggs, dairy and is vegan this is a blessing!

    Are you still in Thailand?

Leave a Reply

