Image

Eating in Koh Phangan

Koh Phangan is one of my favourite islands and I always find myself there – at least once a year. For the latest holiday, I stayed in Haad Yao at High Life Bungalow – which was a wonderful surprise since it was situated so high up on the hill overlooking the sea.

Now, this post is about looking for safe things to eat. So here goes:

As always, I tend to avoid Thai food as soy and fish sauce are used in a lot of dishes. It’s also quite difficult to tell if the kitchen washes their woks after cooking each dish. If someone speaks English, it is worth asking.

At Highlife, I stuck to the salads – sans sauce, and the jacket potatoes. My travel partner had the English Breakfast which looked good, but I wasn’t sure if the bacon was deep fried or if the sausage was gluten free. So I had some fried eggs and beans for breakfast.

In my luggage I packed some Heinz Beans snap pots – which always come in handy! Plus some gluten free cereal bars and crackers.

One night we met friends on Haad Salad and had a lovely fish BBQ dinner right on the beach in front of the Salad Buri Resort. We had grilled prawns, mackerel, barracuda with salad, corn and baked potatoes. I made sure to check out the grill and was shown that they used garlic and oil on their fish – no soy sauce in sight!

Another restaurant I found on this trip was Taboon. They had some great dips – however they were all served with pita bread so I had to request they bring it out separately. They also had some yummy salads. Taboon can be found around Chao Pao, near the lake.

Here’s a few websites that can help you navigate around gluten free fare:

Don’t forget that the plethora of health-food restaurants usually have an idea about gluten!

 

Leave a Reply

