Lifestyle Juicery Cleanse

logo2At the beginning of the month, I completed a six day juice cleanse from Lifestyle Juicery. While I have completed detoxes before at Ananda Resort and The Yoga Retreat in Koh Pha Ngan, this was different.

The Reasons

After my trip to Myanmar, I returned to Bangkok very tired and sick. A couple weeks back into the work routine, I started getting insane headaches and extreme tiredness. It got so bad that I would go home and sleep for two hours after work, then go to the gym or resume my plans.

Had I been glutened? Or was I just exhausted from a long and stressful work year? Did I need another holiday?

I decided to do the juice cleanse as I knew I wouldn’t get down to Koh Pha Ngan until the end of July and I needed some help, FAST!

I usually do a detox once a year to help clear things out of my system and re-establish healthy eating and exercise routines. I find that cutting out the processed foods, sugar and dairy helps me reset my system. Some benefits I’ve noticed in the past are:

  • feeling of well-being
  • increased positivity
  • lack of headaches / head fog
  • increased energy and focus
  • better sleep
  • generally feeling refreshed
  • some weight loss

Motivation

While it can be hard to stay motivated, I found this juice cleanse much easier than the past detoxes. Perhaps that is because I had six juices each day, and just as soon as my stomach started rumbling again, it was time to have another juice.

I made the mistakes of moving apartments on my first day, so on the second day, I spent most of the day in bed reading and watching films. A certain amount of fatigue is to be expected, so I took advantage of the long weekend I had off work.

On the third day I had a bit more energy so did a workout on the treadmill and with free weights. In the evening, I was a bit more hungry than usual, but with a pot of peppermint and chamomile tea before bed, my stomach was satisfied.

The next day, I did a hot yoga session and almost passed out, but I’m happy I did. Going to the gym gave me the opportunity to weigh myself and I found I had lost 3kgs.

The fifth and sixth days were a bit of a challenge for me as I had to go back to work. Luckily though, I was used to the routine by then, and armed with my water bottle I was determined to finish it. Despite not eating whole food, my headaches were gone and I felt lighter and more energetic. For me, that was really the motivating factor.

IMG_3404

The Juices!

About Lifestyle Juicery

I heard about this company from a friend who received a gift voucher for her birthday. I hadn’t realised that there was anyone in Bangkok who did this, besides Rasayana, and that they deliver! They also have stands at the BKK Farmer’s Markets!

Several of my friends are avid juicers and I must say, that after reading about Jason Vale I became convinced of the benefits.

Lifestyle Juicery have a range of juices on offer, but also provide advice on how many days you should juice for. Their website is very helpful!

I will definitely cleanse with them again as they are convenient for people living in Bangkok and it makes detoxing much more accessible than traveling to the islands every few months.

New Health Goal: Do a juice cleanse every three months. Challenge accepted 🙂

Leave a Reply

