Image

Gluten free in Kuala Lumpur

I stayed at the lovely Shangri La in Putrajaya for a few days at the beginning of the month.IMG_2928

I found Malaysian cuisine to be similar to Thai flavours, but with a much more Indian and Chinese influence. While at the hotel, I ate mostly Indian dishes like aloo gobi and rice, but also enjoyed some steamed salmon and nice salads.

Like anywhere, it’s important to contact the kitchen ahead and educate them on your special dietary need. Most breakfasts I had an omelette with rice, veggies and fresh fruit.IMG_2940

I had a couple strange experiences at KL airport however. At first I noticed a Wendy’s sign and I seriously contemplated glutening myself for a bacon cheeseburger and fries! IMG_1588I haven’t had one in over 5 years (it was a very weak moment).IMG_2941Luckily I found this shop while walking around doing some shopping to waste time. Colleagues had warned me that once you go through security, there is not a lot of food options. So I heeded their warning and picked up a salad and some crisps at this little shop. As you can see from the pic below, they had some snack options for me ๐Ÿ™‚IMG_1591

One thought on “Gluten free in Kuala Lumpur

  1. Brendan says:

    In KLIA2, there is a pretty big full-on grocery store that stocks a variety of products explicitly labelled gluten-free. Most are expensive imports, but they have surprisingly cheap protein-bar-type things and, most exciting to me at the time when I lost my bottle due to airport security and absentmindedness previously in the trip, gluten free tamari. I never found gf tamari in any other supermarkets in KL.

Leave a Reply

