Gallery

Orgran Bread Mix Review

image

I came home from work this evening craving baked beans on toast. Maybe this was my body’s way of preparing me for my training run tomorrow morning. Luckily I found this at Emporium Food Hall last weekend and decided to give it a go. I’ve tried the Orgran white bread mix before and it was thick, dusty and chalky. Not a great bread mix. But I thought I would give this one a try.

imageJust add water and oil.

image

Let the bread rise for 5-10 minutes and then throw it in the oven for about 30 minutes.

image

Take it out and let it cool.

image

It doesn’t taste awful, it’s much nicer than the eggy Yes You Can bread mix, and much softer than the Springhill Farms stuff (although I can’t find this mix at Topps anymore).

All in all, it took about 45 minutes and required minimum effort. Success!

 

2 thoughts on “Orgran Bread Mix Review

  1. Tara says:

    Hi Marley. I am not at all into baking so I have had to resort to these ready-made mixes. Especially with the Orgran bread I was getting desperate of the outcome. In my opinion it just tasted nasty, the texture was way too moist and sloppy. Before giving up on bread altogether I evened out the whole dough over the baking tray, putting a baking paper under and above the dough. When baked, you let it sit a while and then cut it into square pieces. Voilá, it did the trick and it actually tastes and feels like bread should. I’ve baked the Yes You Can bread-mix the same way and I’m now quite happy with the results.

    • Marley says:

      It can be a bit tricky! I agree, the Orgran stuff isn’t great. I just toast it and slather it in peanut butter or cheese!

      But I am going to try another paleo recipe this weekend…hopefully it’s better!

Leave a Reply

