Gallery

Vegan & Gluten Free Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

image

Perfect with coffee or tea

In a quest to finish off a bag of oats that I have had forever, I endeavored to make some questionably healthy oatmeal and raisin cookies.

image

Team Nuts vs. Team No Nuts

Luckily my local Topps has Waitrose raisins, otherwise, I’m not sure what I would have used. If I had used cranberries, they would have turned out exactly like my other cookie recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup of coconut oil (or 1/2 cup butter – cow’s, margarine or vegan – at room temperature)
  • 3/4 cup of raw cane sugar (alternate with a mixture of honey and chopped dates)
  • 1 egg (vegan? add another banana or egg replacer)
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg (optional)
  • 1 cup plus 2 tbsp gluten free flour (I use ‘Yes You Can’ Gluten Free Flour Mix or 1/2 arrowroot flour mixed with buckwheat flour)
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 1/2 cup gluten free oats
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (optional – I usually make 1/2 the batch without the walnuts, then add them in)
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seeds (optional)
  • 1 tbsp maca powder (optional)
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius or 250 degrees Fahrenheit.
Mix the coconut oil and sugar together until all lumps are out of the sugar.image

Then add the egg, vanilla, baking powder, spices, flax seeds and maca powder. Make sure this is mixed well.

image
Stir in the flour, then the raisins and oatmeal until combined. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.

image
Drop rounded mounds of dough on an ungreased cookie sheet (I use baking paper). Flatten the dough mounds slightly before baking.

image
Bake until just lightly browned on the edges and middle. This takes about 8-10 minutes.

image

Chewy & crunchy – the best of both worlds

Cool and then serve!

image

These guys are a bit browner as the oven was much hotter – definitely needed 8 mins, not 10!

Makes about 2 dozen cookies, depending on size.

**Please note: I made these cookies a few times since posting, experimenting with the ingredients. I used 2 regular eggs instead of adding mashed banana as I didn’t have any at the time. To compensate, I used only 1/2 cup of gluten free flour. They turned out great!

2 thoughts on “Vegan & Gluten Free Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

  1. I should add that these have been tested by carnivorous five year olds and adults alike. Everyone agrees they are thoroughly scrummy!

Leave a Reply

