Gallery

Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls

image

Amazing with a morning coffee!

You can see from my Apple Crumble Post that cinnamon has been on my mind lately!

Before I went away for the Songkran holiday, I needed to defrost my fridge (and to save money on electricity). While cleaning, I found 2 frozen balls of pizza dough.

I figured, since there was no salt or seasoning, that I could transform these into yummy sweets. And I was right!

image

They don’t look too bad, minus the deformed one on the end.

This pizza base is the ‘Yes You Can’ prepackaged mix (which is available in most Villa & Topps supermarkets).

Yes You Can_pizza base mix_i

Versatile mix – I’m sure you could use this as a pie base as well

What I did:

  1. Made a sweet mixture of water, maple syrup, sugar and cinnamon (I just kept combining these ingredients until I got a very sticky mixture, the consistency of corn syrup)
  2. Rolled the dough out onto a cutting board dusted with gluten free flour
  3. Used a pastry brush to slather on the ‘sweet mixture’
  4. Rolled the dough so it looked like a sausage
  5. Cut it into 1.5 inch pieces
  6. Baked for about 20-25 minutes at 200 degrees Celsius
image

The ‘before’ picture

If you’re a fan, you could add some chopped walnuts, pecans or raisins.

Leave a Reply

