Gallery

Vegan / Gluten Free Apple Crumble

While Skyping with friends, I was surprised to still see snow on the ground back home in Canada. This made me think about the types of things I would be making, like apple crumble and cinnamon buns. Once again, I was craving the comforts of home.

I’ve used another nut base – hey, these are great! You don’t have to add any butter or oils due to the natural oils in the nuts!

image

Mmm cinnamon and apple goodness!

So I popped down to Villa and picked up a few sour apples and a package of dried cranberries.

image

It’s starting to look promising!

Now, I don’t have a proper recipe for this, you just need to judge based on the size of the cooking dish you use.

Chop up your apples and sprinkle with cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg and some sugar (I used McCormick’s Cinnamon Sugar) for this. You can sprinkle in some raisins, but I’ve used cranberries here. Then you’ll want to add a little water, just enough to cover the bottom of the pan, to help cook the apples a bit more.

Next, put your nuts in the food processor. I used:

  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 3-4 dates

You could also use pecans or any other nuts you like/have around. Grind in the food processor until the nuts start to stick together. Sprinkle on top of the apple/cranberry mix.

image

Bake in the oven at 200 degrees Celsius for about 20-30 minutes. Use a knife to determine if the apples are cooked. If the top starts to brown and the apples are still not 100% cooked, put some tinfoil on top.

Leave a Reply

