Gallery

Easy Gluten Free Banoffee Pie

This post has been updated.

While on a quest to experiment with pie bases, I came across the technique of using ground nuts. My favourites are walnuts, cashews and almonds. I tend to use these in all sorts of dishes – walnuts in muffins, cashews for cheese, almonds in pancakes…

image

Please note: I have stopped purchasing Heritage brand nuts as I cannot determine if they are in fact gluten free. While many Thai friends tell me they are organic, I have not been able to get in contact with the company to find more details about their manufacturing processes. Now, I purchase Waitrose nuts at all the big shopping centres (and have not had any problems).

Using a food processor, I used cashews, walnuts and almonds. To be honest, I didn’t measure it out because it depends on how big of a dish you’ll use. Add in some dates to add sweetness, as well as to help bind the nuts together to form the base. You can of course add your favourite gluten free biscuits to the mix!

imageNext up, I carmelized some sugar, and put this on top of the nut base. Then I started to add the bananas (uncooked this time).

imageI wasn’t such a fan of the Orgran chocolate mousse, so I picked up some Betty Crocker (gluten free!) for some serious chocolateness.

Cool in the fridge for a couple hours. This pie is so sweet your teeth will ache! But my friends and I loved it!

Here’s the old recipe:

image

These are all the ingredients you will need.

image

Start first with your biscuits – any gluten free ones will do. You want to crush them, or you could put them in a food processor. If you want to add more texture, crush some nuts, like almonds, cashews or walnuts. For the bottom layer, use your discretion. I didn’t have many cookies, so my crumble crust is quite thin.

image

Next, begin to carmelize your sugar. This is easy. You take a couple table spoons of sugar and put them into a frying pan on medium heat. You can add some water here – little amounts to start. You want the sugar to bubble and become sticky. You can also add some cinnamon or vanilla at this point.imageThen you want to add your chopped bananas. This will be the delicious banoffee part of the dessert! Turn the heat down. You don’t want your bananas to mush – you just want them to become coated in sugary goodness!

image

Remove the pan from the heat and begin your gluten free chocolate mousse. Follow the instructions on the packet.image

Begin to layer in your bananas. The chocolate mousse goes next. Put in the fridge to set for 1-2 hours.image

Serve with some gluten free ice-cream. New Zealand Natural does a nice chocolate, as well as a vanilla. I personally like the Hokey Pokey one.

This will blow your mind.

One thought on “Easy Gluten Free Banoffee Pie

Leave a Reply

