Gallery

Butter is Better Diner & Bakery

IMG_0684

Cute 1950s diner

Thank goodness for Trip Advisor! This was my first food stop in Chiang Mai and it was about 5 mins from my hotel. It’s down Chang Klan, on the south side of the Sridornchai intersection. In fact, you should be able to see it from Pantip Plaza.

IMG_0685

Wahey! Gluten free buckwheat pancakes!

Butter is Better boasts gluten free bread, cakes and of course, the pancakes as mentioned.

image

Some gluten free cakes, but I was too scared to try them!

I would recommend a smoothie and the buckwheat pancakes for a hearty breakfast. Since it was around lunch when I first arrived, I ordered the lentil and spinach soup. This came with some delicious gluten free toast.

image

Mmmm lentils

I was half way through the first slice of toast when I thought: Was this toasted in a wheat toaster? Bugger…Β And sure enough, it was. The owner was really lovely and brought me some untoasted and uncontaminated bread, but I spent the rest of the day worried that this cross-contamination would ruin the rest of my week.

The next day wasn’t great, but I got plenty of rest and fluids, plus took in some live yoghurt to help repair my stomach.

As a result, I started to consider the home-made ‘gluten free’ signs I saw on baked items in other restaurants. How are you ever 100% sure items are gluten free? This will plague me back home in Canada too. The only time I was unequivocally sure, was in Koh Phangan at World’s End because the chef herself suffered from a gluten intolerance.

Leave a Reply

