Gallery

Rasayana – Sukhumvit Soi 39

Caution: Rasayana is a raw food cafe!

Caution: Rasayana is a raw food cafe!

Cabbage spring rolls

Cabbage spring rolls

A colleague told me about Rasayana a few weeks ago. She also mentioned Sustaina, so I figured Saturday would be a great chance to try them both out, as they are on Soi 39.

My friend and I were extremely disappointed with Sustaina; the shop itself had some great organic items like honey, oils and soaps, but the restaurant was a complete let-down. There is soy sauce in every item! Avoid the restaurant at Sustaina as the staff are not clued up on gluten-free food, despite advertising gluten-free rice noodles.

Feeling a bit dismayed, we headed to Rasayana and our day was redeemed! For the first time, we could eat everything on the menu (except for a few wheatgrass drinks and the barley sushi). What a relief!

We started off with a Green Juice and Mojito – these were lovely. Then we ordered a pizza and the mushroom burger. I was quite impressed how the crust and ‘bun’ were dehydrated sunflower seeds. What a great idea!

Hawaiian Pizza

Hawaiian Pizza

Of course the food was delicious and filling. I was pleasantly surprised to see how innovative and decadent the dishes were! At no point did I feel guilty 🙂 I will definitely be going back (for a massage and detox too!)

They also have a location in Pattaya! For more information, visit their website.

map-rasayana-bkk

2 thoughts on “Rasayana – Sukhumvit Soi 39

  1. Shari says:

    Hi Marley,
    I did not try Sustaina for a year because it didn’t look like I’d be able to eat anything there. But I had an event there recently that I needed to attend. So I contacted them in advance and told them my limitations. They made an AMAZING meal for me that looked identical to everyone else. There were two delicious courses. I keep thinking I should go back. So I’ll try it and see if they can remember and duplicate it. And if so I’ll get details so I can pass it along to you and everyone.

    So glad you enjoyed Rasayana! It’s my favorite for sure!

    • Marley says:

      It was a bit weird. Mary and I went for lunch last Saturday and between a server, a cook and the shop manager, they could not make any food suggestions. Perhaps the key thing is to contact them in advance, like you did.

Leave a Reply

