Gallery

Gluten Free Vientiane

When my boss told me I would be travelling to Vientiane last week, my heart immediately jumped out of my chest. A week’s notice? Would I have time to research gluten free foods and places to eat? Did I have a frozen loaf of gluten free bread in the freezer? How much is the luggage allowance?

Fresh rice spring rolls

Fresh rice spring rolls

Knowing that I would be having breakfast at the hotel every morning, I emailed the staff at Salana Boutique Hotel to inform them. They reassured me that they could provide for my gluten free and vegetarian diet.  I think this is the way to go when travelling. On the first evening, I ordered room service and they confirmed my dietary needs on the phone.

view-from-the-street

Monks from the temple nearby

In the morning they provided a breakfast buffet. I had yogurt with honey and muesli that I brought with me, plus some fresh fruit and cheese. They also provided fresh omelettes, but being a veg, I didn’t order one. They did have some breakfast meats for you meat-eaters out there, but the bacon was sitting on slices of bread!

I stuck with the same rules that I use in Bangkok: anything with a sauce, I asked for no soy sauce (bow oww see ewww – fish sauce ok). When in restaurants, I asked to speak to an English speaking server/manager.

On my first night, I walked through the streets to see how the locals eat – this informs me about ingredients as you usually see them displayed on the roadside.

Bleeuurrrrggghh - no thanks!

Bleeuurrrrggghh – no thanks!

It didn’t look too different from Thailand. I mostly had salads with rice for lunch, delicious fresh spring rolls and then curries with tofu and veg for dinner.

Leave a Reply

