Gallery

I Hate Spinach!

1007265-popeye

If you ask me, Popeye seems dubious…

Popeye didn’t have me fooled. Spinach tastes awful! I don’t remember anyone trying to feed me spinach on a regular basis, but every once in a while spinach would appear and I would hate it! Now it’s showing up in my CSA box!

I am a vegetarian, ergo I am supposed to love spinach. Yeh, still not a fan! I know there’s a bunch of reasons to love it though – you’ve got the antioxidant stuff, calcium, vitamin C blah blah blah. It still tastes like a dog’s bumhole.

All the reasons you WHY you SHOULD eat spinach

Convinced I must eat it (looks like I’ll get it every week from my CSA), I am determined to hide it so that I won’t notice it in my foods.

Here’s 5 ways to hide spinach:

1. Morning smoothie – I like to mix it up, depending on what’s available in the shop and my fridge. Usually I go tropical, with bananas, mango, kiwi, passion fruit and pineapple. Not bad. Spinach hides well with the kiwi (and I pretend the kiwi makes it garbage can green).

Pop in a few gummy bears for good measure

2. Spaghetti sauce – very simple to do. When your gluten free noodles are cooking, throw a bunch of spinach leaves into the water and strain. Then just slosh in your spaghetti sauce. The tomato and Parmesan covers the taste and I pretend that my salad leaves accidentally got mixed in with the pasta.

3. Hide it in a salad – ’nuff said.

4. Hide it in curries and stir-frys – Since I live in Thailand, I pretend it’s Thai basil or bok choi.

I hate spinach!

Cheese fixes everything.

5. Add salt and garlic – Ok so you’re starting to realise that I’m a bit of a child and like to hide my food. Well, this option is no exception. I made a rustic mash potato – sweet potato, crunchy carrots and cauliflower (rustic meaning that it is not pureed like your great-grandmother’s peas).

Then sautée your unsavoury greens (my mom used to make brussel sprouts with pistachio and then sprinkle bacon on top). I used spinach, amaranth and garlic. Season with salt and pepper. Near the end, I added chopped pistachio and topped with some feta cheese.

One thought on “I Hate Spinach!

Leave a Reply

